Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yuko Hosaka

By Yuko Hosaka, a Japanese illustrator and printmaker

I’ve been on a Pinterest kick lately that’s taken me into the wee hours of the morning, searching for images to pin to my boards. I don’t know how to describe the pleasure it brings, searching through pages and pages of artwork and photographs to chance upon the perfect one that lights up my mind and makes me purr with delight.

Capturing these images to visit again and again on my boards feels like a real achievement. Like I’ve created these personal cupboards filled with rare scents I can sniff and swoon over to my heart’s delight.

I have 7 boards now. My first was Illustrations of Nursery Rhymes & Fairy Tales. I began collecting these when I was working on a blog post about childhood influences in literature and art.

mudwerks:    (via Golden Age Comic Book Stories)    Jessie Wilcox Smith - water-babies

Jessie Wilcox Smith – Water-Babies

✯ The Crimson Fairy Book by Andrew Lang :: Illustrations by H. J. Ford✯

✯ The Crimson Fairy Book by Andrew Lang :: Illustrations by H. J. Ford✯

from Grimms' Fairy Tales by Marija Jevtic - http://www.behance.net/gallery/Grimms-Fairy-Tales/5411205

Grimms’ Fairy Tales by Marija Jevtic – http://www.behance.net/gallery/Grimms-Fairy-Tales/5411205

Story Book Sundays - The Wind - Illustrated by Ruth Hallock

Story Book Sundays – The Wind – Illustrated by Ruth Hallock

More recently I started one called Blue & Gold because these are my favorite colors, and the two together does something to me that I cannot describe.

Maurice sapiro The Six Foot Sunset   48"x72"

Maurice Sapiro, The Six Foot Sunset 48″x72″

Indigo: In Search of the Color That Seduced the World

The Sea at Dusk, watercolor by Emile Nolde http://paintwatercolorcreate.blogspot.com/2013/08/the-vibrant-watercolors-of-emil-nolde.html

The Sea at Dusk, watercolor by Emile Nolde

Galle, Sri Lanka

Galle, Sri Lanka

That one led me to create a board dedicated to images of the Sea & Boats. Blues and golds are featured here as well, and my life-long love of the ocean and sailing. There’s something that strike me as deeply feminine and mystical about the sea and the boats that sail there.

"Alomg the Nile" - by Sergej Ovcharuk ~ Oil

“Along the Nile” – by Sergej Ovcharuk ~ Oil

Arte!: Konstantin Korovin, a Russian Impressionist Constantin Alexeevich Korovin - White Night in Nothern Norway - circa 1895

Konstantin Korovin, a Russian Impressionist Constantin Alexeevich Korovin – White Night in Nothern Norway – circa 1895

 

Howard Pyle: Attack on a Galleon, 1905 - oil on canvas (Delaware Art Museum)

Howard Pyle: Attack on a Galleon, 1905 – oil on canvas (Delaware Art Museum)

Vincent Van Gogh

Vincent Van Gogh

A newer board is The Art of Zen. Here is where I collect images that speak to the spare and subtle “imperfect” perfection that lies at the heart of things.

Six Persimmons

Six Persimmons, Mu’ Chi, 13th century Zen monk

Jacques Henri Lartigue

Jacques Henri Lartigue

Georgia O'Keeffe (American, 1887-1986) - "Blue-03", 1916

Georgia O’Keeffe (American, 1887-1986) – “Blue-03”, 1916

吴冠中江南水乡绘画艺术桌面壁纸

吴冠中江南水乡绘画艺术桌面壁纸

I hope you enjoyed this peek into my cupboards of delight. You can see more here.

Do you collect things on Pinterest? What and why? I’d love to see them.

